Uncategorized

Hey Batter Batter!

OMG – I can’t believe that it’s already been two months since I last posted! I’ve been keeping busy, I guess! lol.

Well, I’ll catch up eventually, but for now, let’s fast forward to the baseball game I went to yesterday!

Having grown up in a house with two little brothers who played baseball and football, I kind of got burnt out on both of those sports – especially since I’m not a very sportlich person anyway. However, that being said, it can still be a lot of fun for me to go out to a ball game of any nature with a group of people – it’s always an adventure and loads of fun. So, Friday, when the boyfriend asked me if I wanted to go with him and his friends to a game Saturday, I had to say yes!

Baseball is rather popular here in South Korea. One of my elementary students always writes about playing baseball, and even says he wants to be a professional pitcher when he grows up. There are many professional teams in this small country – with me even being able to name three based in Seoul off the top of my head.

The sports stadium is really pretty easy to get to – take the Line 2 subway to the Sports Complex stop, then follow the signs (or the crowd). In the underground from the tracks to the exit, you can buy all sorts of stuff to support your team – shirts, hats, etc. – but don’t wait until after the game, because all of those vendors will have packed up and left long ago.

One of the first things you will see upon exiting, is the plethora of pop up vendors just outside of the stadium – selling water, beer, soda, gimbab, dried seafood jerky and a variety of other things the typical Korean person would expect to find at a baseball game (I assume, based on what what was available for purchase and what I saw folks eating in the stadium). What was obviously missing, for this born and bred midwestern American girl, were popcorn, peanuts and hotdogs.

Squid Jerky

We went in search of some food which didn’t have flies landing on it. The bf and I got smoothies from Smoothie King and the friends got some pizza. While we sat on the curb enjoying our gourmet fare, I looked up and saw this:

O_rings

I didn’t realize that we were going to a baseball game at an OLYMPIC stadium – that made the whole thing just *that* much cooler! There are little bits of the 1988 Seoul Olympics all over, and they kind of get taken for granted it seems. I still think it’s pretty sweet, but this is the first time I’ve really lived near where an Olympics were held, so I’m still in honeymoon phase, I guess. 😛

I found out that the game was the LG Twins (home) versus the Nexen Heroes. I usually support the home team in situations such as these when I don’t really have a preference, but after learning that the Nexen Heroes used to be the Hyundai Unicorns, I had to proclaim my allegiance to the Heroes. Fortunately, the boyfriend and I were on the same page and we cheered on the Heroes together for the next three hours.

20130615_185733

This lady LOUDLY cheered with us – even though her husband was obviously an LG Twins fan.

Our seats were INCREDIBLY cheap – 8,000₩! Granted, we were in Left Field and nosebleed, but it was still a good time.

20130615_170953

We heard that the more expensive (better) seats were only 15,000₩, so, we might spring for that next time.

In the red section, on either side of the field, there were cheerleader/dancer chicks amping up the crowd – I’d never seen anything like that in America!

Screen shot 2013-06-16 at 22.49.56 PM

(sorry for the quality – I forgot to grab my real camera, so all my pix were done with my Samsung Galaxy S3)

For the first 4 innings of the game, it was SUPER boring. Then, in the bottom of the fifth, LG Twins got a run and a GRAND SLAM and things got a little more exciting after that.

In the end, however, the Nexen Heroes lost the game 9-0.

20130615_193935

And as I’m sure you can imagine, this made the bf and I rather sad. 😦

20130615_195102

We will be going out to support our new team again soon. Really, though, win or lose, it was a great evening for  friends and some baseball.

20130615_185757

If you are so keen, here is a totally unedited 33 second video from the game yesterday. (on YouTube)

Leave a Reply

