Food · Living · Silver Linings

Always Look at the Bright Side of Life *whistle whistle*

This morning, ok, let’s be honest – this afternoon – I was making breakfast. I don’t have much to choose from in my larder – I need to go grocery shopping in a bad way.

The only thing on the menu this morning was an Egg Sandwich. I scrounged together my last two slices of Paris Baguette Omega & Grain Bread. I sadly made smaller the block of my precious New York Sharp Cheddar Cheese.  Finally, I scrambled a couple of eggs.

I constructed my sandwich, poured my coffee and sat down to enjoy the fruits of my labors.

As I went to pick up my sandwich to take the first bite, I realized that the egg wasn’t quite cooked through, it was dripping a little down the edge of my bread. “Oh man, great,” I thought. “I guess I’ll just microwave it a little bit.”

I looked more closely at the bread next to the egg dripping and noticed that there were dots on the crust of my bread. Now, the Omega and Grain bread does have seeds and grains baked into it, but these were tiny and grey-blue. After closer inspection, they were definitely mold spores. “Awesome. Now, if this is how my day is going to start out, I wonder how the rest of my day is going to go,” I whinged.

I scraped the egg onto my plate and peeled off the melting cheddar; I tossed the bread into the compost bin. After nuking my eggs for a minute, I sat back down to enjoy my breakfast.

Now, what does this tragic tale of woe and moldy bread have to do with the iconic Monty Python Song from Life of Brian, one of my favorite movies of all time? At first, I was highly annoyed about my misfortune of the runny egg and the molded bread. Upon further introspection, I realized that if it had not been for the runny egg, I wouldn’t have noticed the moldy bread. So, while the whole thing was unfortunate, there was no reason to view this as a negative event. In the words of Eric Idle:

“Some things in life are bad
They can really make you mad
Other things just make you swear and curse
When you’re chewing on life’s gristle
Don’t grumble, give a whistle
And this’ll help things turn out for the best…”

Lyrics from eLyrics.net

(you can hear the whole song on YouTube here)

Image

Leave a Reply

