beachbody · coaching · Health & Wellness · Living

Out of the Coaching Closet

Two weeks ago, I made the decision to sign up as a Beachbody Coach. This was a decision I had NEVER imagined that I might take.

Five years ago, I left my toxic, failing marriage. I was a full time graduate student living in my mom’s house. A friend of mine asked me to sign up with Mary Kay. She didn’t pressure me at all – nor did her upline. They were really great – we’re all still friends, even.

What drew me to Mary Kay is that I loved the sisterhood component. I loved the opportunity to basically be able to work around my school/student teaching schedule and workload. I super sucked at being a Mary Kay consultant. I’m not religious (There are a lot of religious undertones in MK). I’m not high-maintenance or wear a lot of make up. I just felt like I didn’t fit in.

Fast forward 5 years…I sign up with Beachbody. Am I fitness freak? No. Am I in great shape? Hardly. Am I super motivated? Some days. So, what gives?

I’m perpetually tired. I am constantly feeling low. I have a closet full of clothes I could wear 2 years ago, but I can’t fit in them anymore. I’m seeing a lot of health concerns in my family which could have been prevented or made less severe by a healthy diet and lifestyle. I have a 14 month old for whom I want to be a good role model.

I needed a change. I needed camaraderie and support while I made this change. I have found all of that with the my Beachbody team. Even if I’m not a fitness freak (yet), I still feel like I belong.

I haven’t advertised over the last two weeks that I have made this decision for fear of failing, ridicule, or being patronized.

But, why shouldn’t I advertise that I am trying to better my life, my health, maybe even my bank account. That I’m trying to be a better mom. I would have announced if I’d gone back to school for my Ph.D. or if I’d gotten a new job – why should this endeavor be any different?

So, don’t be surprised that I will start posting a lot more selfies or start talking a lot more about fitness and nutrition. But, don’t think that every little thing I do is a sales pitch – ‘cos it’s NOT.

Right now, my health and wellness must take center (2nd-)stage (Let’s face it – Boogerbutt will always be center 1st-stage). My talking about it is helping keep me accountable and motivated to keep on keeping on!

If you have questions or you’d like to join me in my quest for a better self, send me a message – I’d love to talk to you. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

